Le Labo Thé Noir 29 (2015)

Le Labo Thé Noir 29 © Victor Wong
Le Labo Thé Noir 29 © Victor Wong

I walked in the shop, and pretended that I wanted to take a sniff of Thé Noir 29 (Black Tea) and acted hesitant for one second. The shop owner, a beautiful woman, still recognized me after almost more than a year since my last visit and knew that I would buy a bottle. “What else would you do?”, she smiled in a half-joking way and turned around to open the fridge door to reach for the bottle of concentrate for dilution.

Yes, I bought a bottle because I collect Le Labo perfumes. They were one of the reasons why I started my own business. I will continue to follow them even if  one day they have a perfume called Donald Trump 100.

Some people said, “Just like any other Le Labo scents, you don’t smell what the title says it is!”

Actually I could detect the black tea note the very first time I smelled it in the shop. It was freshly sprayed on a card, but the card itself already had been sprayed on quite a few times before. It’s not bad.

“And It is all about figs.”

Well, yes, there’s fig in this perfume, but I don’t think it’s very dominant. This is actually a disappointment, not that I think the perfume needs more figs; it’s just that I thought Le Labo actually listened to my plea that I wanted a full fig perfume. (I wrote them an email for a different matter, but I mentioned that I wanted a fig perfume in the postscript.) The bergamot, fig and black tea note complement each other quite nicely. Not heavy-handed.

By Kilian has a perfume titled “Imperial Tea” and it smells like a tea canister filled with great dry jasmine tea leaves and nothing else. Laser-focused concept and execution. I was very tempted to get a bottle, but I thought, maybe I should try hanging two jasmine tea bags under my armpits first and I probably would smell the same (except it’s very bad for my white undershirt). Le Labo’s Thé Noir 29 on the other hand, is the opposite of Imperial Tea and very typical of their style: it’s a rather ambiguous scent, and you can’t exactly pinpoint its genre. I think oriental, in this case?

I have been very busy recently, I didn’t have a chance to give Thé Noir 29 some proper wearing. Just when I was about to write this review, I took a sniff of the cap, and all of a sudden, I realize something. Oh my god, Thé Noir 29, you’ve slept with Baie Rose 26!

In a dramatic moment, Thé Noir 29 became emotionally volatile and unstable, and he pulled his black tea wig off and said, “I am actually Baie Rose 26!”

“No, come on, you don’t have to do this. Tootsie already did that.”

That’s right, the heart and base notes section of Thé Noir 29 reminds me of Baie Rose 26. I don’t know what to think… Is this a flanker?

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

