Mendittorosa Odori d’Anima’s Le Mat (2014)

Mendittorosa's Le Mat © Victor Wong
Mendittorosa’s Le Mat © Victor Wong

A woman walked into a souvenir shop located in a busy tourist area of Rome and asked the shopkeeper with a dissenting voice, “Is there anything in this shop not made in China? I have been looking for a true Italian gift to bring home.” The shopkeeper was a bit annoyed and made an nano-second eyes roll. I glanced around the shop and thought, really, there wasn’t anything in here that could meet her simple requirement, so I continued selecting my Pinocchio fridge magnets.

I wished Mendittorosa’s Le Mat (“The Fool”, from a deck of Tarot cards) had already been released back then and was available in that shop, because that would really make her happy. I’ll be frank, I bought Le Mat mostly because of its packaging. It’s one of those hand-crafted packaging designs when I first saw it, I instantly knew that they had put a lot of creativity and effort in it. There had to be a lot of prototyping, material sourcing, numbers crunching, and test-production runs to see whether or not their staff could handle the production of that special design. It was also one of those packaging designs when I first saw it, I foresaw they wouldn’t stay that way forever; once a perfume house becomes really big, they will forgo their traditional ways of time-consuming hand-crafted packaging and go for full factory automation. This is only natural, not necessarily a sellout. When that day arrives, I will show the world that I am one of the proud owners of the first edition bottle.

According to the Tarot wiki, “The Fool is shown at the beginning of his journey with unlimited potential”. If I try really really hard, I might be able to tell you how the scent of Le Mat gives me the association of “The Fool”. But I can’t. Rather, I think it’s a good name for Mendittorosa’s debut perfume, to symbolize their first step into the perfumery business – with their best effort and hope for the best. (Edit: Someone corrected me that Le Mat is not their debut perfume.)

Le Mat is majorly a herbal, spicy scent. It smells rustic and brown, but very refined; sensual but not too moody, initially sweet and boozy but sober; it has carnation, immortelle and rose but doesn’t smell particularly floral. It’s the smell of a scholarly bartender who has been serving folks his unusual home-brew herbal drinks in his tavern since the Medieval times.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

