Amouage’s Fate for Women (2013)

Amouage Fate for Woman © Victor Wong
Amouage Fate for Woman © Victor Wong

I remember in a first-year Science class experiment, we try to roughly find out how big an oil molecule is: First, a large tray filled with water is sprinkled on top a generous amount of baby powder, completely covering the surface. Then 1 mL of oil is dropped in the middle and it spreads, pushing the baby powder away. A rough measurement of the dimensions of the “oil spill” can be found, and we can deduce the “height” of an oil molecule. The whole experiment is extremely rudimentary, but I was quite impressed by the visual aspect of fast pushing action of that little droplet. The same impression is re-experienced again, believe it or not, through a spraying of Amouage Fate for Woman, which has the same “high speed boom! then everything slows down” effect on me, but this time completely 3D and olfactive.

That spray of Amouage Fate for Woman, damn, is like an explosion of a firework bomb, carefully designed that aims to win some international fireworks competition. The outermost layer is baby powder (labdanum) and pepper, followed by some of the densest florals I have ever smelt – rose, jasmine, narcissus; and in a second the innermost core explodes and it’s incense, cinnamon, amber and patchouli. No one ever walks away from a fireworks show, and I just have to stare at the spectacle with my nose. Despite all the colours and richness, strangely, the lasting power of Fate for Woman on me is also like a firework, gone too soon, but the rich spicy/incense base notes linger for hours.

The powdery/rose design is not new, but Fate has a distinctly Middle-Eastern flare that makes it so exotic and rich. Next time you see me frozen in my chair with my forearm risen up against my nose and eyes not moving, I am not rebooting myself, I am admiring Fate for Women. My rating: a million stars.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

