Byredo’s La Tulipe (2010)

Byredo La Tulipe © Victor Wong
Byredo La Tulipe © Victor Wong

About two years ago I asked members of a Facebook fragrance group to post a photo of their first five perfumes. No one participated. They simply couldn’t remember. (However, they did post photos of “Your Top 5 Perfumes”.) I suspect that people can’t even remember the last five perfumes that they have purchased recently. But I remember Byredo’s La Tulipe being one of my very first purchases.

Looking back, I find it amusing that out of that many perfumes to choose from, I picked La Tulipe. I remember I rationalized that it’s ok to wear a feminine, light floral scent. The sales person said, “It’s a very dapper scent, and perfect for a white tuxedo bow tie event”. I totally get that, but I couldn’t imagine I would ever be invited to such event unless I own a flying unicorn. I also remember that I struggled trying to justify its price for it is just a very spring / summer / laundry / Frebreeze scent. (May be I could spray Frebreeze on myself and tell people I am wearing La Tulipe? Or pour two cups of detergent instead of one in a laundry cycle? Hmm…may be not.)

I don’t have much to say about this perfume except that I love it. Freesia, rhubarb, lovely and fresh synthetic chemicals… it’s so gay. (Both happy and Ellen DeGeneres.) However, there is one review of a completely unrelated perfume that prompts me to write about La Tulipe, and it’s the review of Body Shop’s Smokey Poppy. The reviewer complains that Smokey Poppy smells nothing smokey and nothing like poppies and the title of the perfume is misleading, which I think he has a valid point. One thing though, I think most people know that poppy flowers don’t have a scent. I also know that tulips don’t have a scent either. People say that a certain type of tulips do have a floral scent, but I highly doubt that La Tulipe is a solifore of such. So what does that mean? I guess the title of a perfume is just a suggestion of a state of mind. In this case, tulip is a perfect symbol of spring breeze, flowers and happiness.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

