L’Artisan Parfumeur’s Safran Troublant (2002)

L'Artisan Parfumeur Safran Troublant © Victor Wong
L’Artisan Parfumeur Safran Troublant © Victor Wong

About a year ago I gave my friend Caro a few perfume samples that I found “uninteresting”. A week later she sent me this text message, “Oh my god, I am in heaven!” She was wearing L’Artisan Parfumeur’s Safran Troublant, and she continued, “Oh no, only a few drops left, what should I do?”

She eventually took out her credit card to purchase it, not a full bottle, but another 1ml sample from Lucky Scent. (She spends most of her money on stylish clothing and sloth related accessories.)

Caro really had a nose for anything “saffron”. When I showed her my work-in-progress perfume, she said, “How about adding some saffron?” When we went to a department store to “sniff”,  she was immediately drawn to Yves Saint Laurent’s Noble Leather. We checked the note list, indeed saffron was present.

Shamefully, I had very little idea what saffron smelled like. So I had decided to get a bottle of Safran Troublant and try to understand what her “heaven” was like (but really to give her a decant, that silly girl).

So I hook up Leonardo DiCaprio’s Inception dream machine, lied down, sprayed some Safran Troublant, and closed my eyes…

I saw Maison Francis Kurkdjian, and Olivia Giacobetti, the perfumer of Safran Troublant, talking to each other, while Caro was standing next to a tree playing with a sloth.

“What are you guys doing here?”, I asked.

“I am telling Francis how his Oud perfume smells like my Safran Troublant,” said Olivia.

“Haha, right, except your perfume has no oud in it but some simple ginger, rose and vanilla,” said Francis.

“Guys, guys, bitch please, don’t fight!” said Caro, with a sloth hanging around her arm. “They don’t smell alike at all, but they are wonderful as they both have saffron in it!”

“Oh, I think I get it! Saffron smells like some dry bitter herbs or peppers; no wonder Francis’ Oud smells like some laboratory chemical cleaner, while Safran Troublant smells like ginger candies with some weird herbal funk,” I said.

They all looked at me with furrowed eyebrows and began beating the crap out of me.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

2 thoughts on “L’Artisan Parfumeur’s Safran Troublant (2002)”

  1. I will read your reviews, even if I have 6 perfume bloggers latest waiting to be read, because I know you are going to make me laugh. That is a fantastic talent, and you can still nail the review. Thanks, Victor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

