Le Labo’s Jasmin 17 (2006)

Le Labo Jasmin 17 © Victor Wong
Le Labo Jasmin 17 © Victor Wong

This is a story about crap and perfume.

In the middle of the giant office there was a big room with glass walls on four sides where everyone could see inside. The “aquarium”, as I called it, sat some of my special coworkers. Everyday I had to swim into the aquarium to talk the shark, the lazy clam, the slimy eel and the copycatfish about the projects that I was working on.

One morning I walked into the aquarium to return a binder and a wall of stink hit me in the face. Wow, this room needed some air freshener, I thought. Later in the afternoon I sat down with copycatfish to talk about some project details and holy cow, he smelled like shit. Suddenly I knew what happened – he had stepped on dog poop. I told him about that and he immediately went to the washroom to clean up, and when he returned he said, “wow, dude, I thought it was you, and I almost wanted to ask you if you had ever taken a shower!”

And Luca Turin gave Le Labo’s Jasmin 17 a one-star rating and described it as “crap jasmine”. My only conclusion is that he must have stepped on some great dane dog poop while writing his review. What crap? I smell only lemon meringue pies, jasmine and amber, and it’s so finger-licking good. However, Jamin 17 doesn’t last long on my body. So one day I went bat-shit crazy and sprayed 8 times on my neck before I went to work.…

The scent did last long enough, so long that I could still smell it when I took the bus home. However, on that trip the bus driver had turned the heat so high up that the whole bus was like a sauna; all the windows were fogged up with human sweat, and suddenly I doubted, did Jasmin 17 really smell like shit? I kept calm and sweated quietly.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

