Diptyque’s Essences Insensées (2014)

Diptyque  Essences Insensees © Victor Wong
Diptyque Essences Insensees © Victor Wong

I have been doing some research on mimosa perfumes lately. L’Artisan Parfumeur’s Mimosa pour Moi and Annick Goutal’s Mimosa were two of the more popular perfumes that came up at the top of the Google search result page. Hmm, I wondered if I had a sample of Mimosa pour Moi from the many L’Artisan Parfumeur samples that I ordered two years ago? I dug around my drawer, yes, I did, only I had completely forgotten about it, as it wasn’t a very memorable scent to me. It actually smelled very nice but also very light; and the supporting notes such as vanilla and violet leaf receded to the background to let mimosa shine, as mimosa is a very soft and light honeyed smelling flower.

Then I came across Diptyque’s Essences Insensées in a department store. I used to think the French word insensées meant incense in English, but (somebody please help me here) Google Translate said it meant “foolish” or “excessive”? Foolish Essence? Excessive Essence? Well, the salesman told me that this limited edition perfume only used flowers that blossom during the December to March period. (To be honest, I don’t remember exactly which months.) Impressive, I guess? Well, to me the most important aspect of this perfume is that it’s a mimosa-centred perfume, and it smells very… strange.

Compared to the naive girl Mimosa pour Moi, Essences Insensées smells grown up and fallen, a middle age woman who has seen better days too early. Why is life so messy? What a soft clash of innocence and decadence. She can still see her beautiful mimosa former self in the mirror, but the smell of heavy beeswax, darker tone of violet, rose and pink pepper weigh her down. Sob a little bit in your bed while wearing your elegant Art Deco ball gown, don’t get up. Tomorrow will be better.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

