Diptyque’s Ofrésia (1999)

Diptyque Ofresia © Victor Wong
Diptyque Ofresia © Victor Wong

Diptyque’s Ofresia freaked me out.

First of all, the perfumer of this minimalistic floral scent is Olivia Giacometti, a talented perfumer who has created many great scents for different perfume houses such as L’Artisan Parfumeur’s Dzing, Frederic Malle’s En Passant and Lubin’s Idole. While she is not the type of perfumer who likes to use a lot of notes in her creations, Ofresia has only three notes: freesia, pepper and wood. Yes, if you can buy perfumery ingredients in a supermarket, you don’t even need to bring a grocery list to make Ofresia a la King.

Ok, Ofresia only has three notes, so what? Does it smell good? Well, a big no at first then a big yes. But let me clarify first. It doesn’t smell cheap and it doesn’t smell overly simple. When I first smelled Ofresia, I “woah?” a little bit because all I could smell was a light fresh floral mixed with rubber. I know what pepper and wood smell like, so by deduction I guess freesia smells a little bit rubbery in nature? I know that the scents of a lot of flowers are actually quite complex (e.g jasmine smells redolent and fecal), maybe freesia smells fresh, redolent, green and rubbery in nature? Once I’ve overcome that “some flowers smell a bit weird” mental hurdle, Ofresia becomes an one-of-a-kind scent that I enjoy very much. Now if I want a perfume with a floral scent that is not rose, jasmine, tuberose or iris, I know which bottle to reach for.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

