Maison Francis Kurkdjian’s Oud (2010)

Maison Francis Kurkdjian Oud © Victor Wong
Maison Francis Kurkdjian Oud © Victor Wong

My friend Fifty-fifty told me that the beef patties from McDonald’s were not all made out of beef, but they called it 100% beef because they bought their meat from a company called “100% Beef”. It’s an urban legend, according to McDonalds. This piece of information or myth didn’t bother at all; I go there for fast food and the fries are quite good. A Facebook friend also said that 99% of all the “oud” perfumes out there did not contain real oud but a synthetic chemical made by aroma chemical giants such as Firmenich. This didn’t bother me neither; I wear “oud” perfumes to make me feel dandy or special. That being said, I could tell all the oud perfumes in my collection have the same kind of synthetic oud in them.

Except Maison Francis Kurkdjian’s Oud. Because if all the oud perfumes smell like oud, then MFK’s Oud doesn’t. I don’t even care if it has no oud in it, because the perfume doesn’t smell like anything I have smelled before and I quite enjoy it.

I call MFK’s Oud chemical X. It smells like some mysterious chemical solution you found in an immaculate, sparkling clean clinic… you twist open the bottle cap and carefully take a sniff… and find the scent smelling unnatural, yet non-pungent and strangely unharmful. You keep on smelling it with a frown until you succumb to the scent with half a smile on your face. Can’t exactly tell what it is; may be the smell of a cotton ball soaked with anesthesia solution that stuffed beside my gum when I had my wisdom tooth pulled? Maybe it’s love? Maybe it’s oud?

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

