Diptyque’s Vetyverio (2010)

Diptyque Vetyverio © Victor Wong
Diptyque Vetyverio © Victor Wong

A fragrance blog reviewer gave one of my favourite perfumes a 1-star rating and I yelled out loud, “No way!” She thought the perfume was good but it didn’t last long on her skin. I wrote a paragraph in the comment section defending the perfume and just left it like that.

The next day before I went to work, I browsed through my perfume collection and skipped all the ones that wouldn’t last on me for more than a few hours. It’s a standard routine. Suddenly I remembered yesterday’s review… did she have a point? A lot of perfumes didn’t get my love because they have poor longevity. People suggest re-applying at work and if I do so I am afraid the light box above my cubicle would light up and reads “Here Sits the High Maintenance Man Victor Wrong”.

I stood in front of my perfumes thinking like an idiot for 5 minutes, and said, “f*k it,” and grabbed my bottle of Vetyverio and sprayed. I’d come to realization that perfumes that perform well eventually get boring too. It’s like drinking many cups of tea with no change of tea bag.

The opening of Vetyverio has the smell of an opened can of concentrated orange juice infused with some vetiver. You are just smelling the juice, not tasting it, so there is little sweetness and no stickiness. It’s fresh, hesperidic (I just learned this word, I have to use it) and the faintly smell of spices and florals in the background make this vetiver perfume quite uncommon and lovely.

I have accepted Diptyques’ perfumes because It doesn’t matter if you love their edt, or capital E-D-P, they are born that way – horrible horrible longevity. After leaving the house and in less than two hours, she’s dead, face down on the street. But I’d enjoyed the short walk with her.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

