Christian Dior’s Fahrenheit Parfum (2014)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

I have eight siblings and I am the youngest in the family, and you might think that there’s a lot of gift-giving when it comes to birthdays and special celebrations; but in reality, no one remembers anyone’s birthday. The last time I received a birthday gift from someone in the family was about 15 years ago; my sister gave me a Dior Fahrenheit (1988) gift set that included a EDP and a bar soap. My memory was very vivid, because I hadn’t received a birthday gift for a long long time, and also it’s the first time I’d received a perfume for a birthday gift. 

I wasn’t interested in perfumes back then, and I thought Fahrenheit was over the top manly for me. I rarely used it, and when I put some on and looked at the mirror, I thought I was James Bond, except that this James Bond had a 42 inch waistline. The famous gasoline top note that never goes away makes think that I am constantly fighting a villain near a giant airplane propeller or some heavy machinery. It smells dangerous, relentless, mature, dapper, athletic, everything at the same time, and that definitely doesn’t represent me, because I like cats, give up on things quite easily, care little about fashion, and can’t climb down a ladder.

I have read a lot of reviews and forum posts written by different James Bonds on how each Fahrenheit reformulation is worse than the previous one, but since I am not James Bond, I never felt I needed to hunt for a vintage bottle, well, until I read about how the new Parfum version smelled very close to the first EDP release. That caught my attention. Cool, I don’t have to pay an inflated price to own the first release! I finally got a bottle, sprayed some on, and it smelled… the same.

Well, almost, it’s sweeter, mellower, and less synthetic. That’s all. Still 42 inch waistline.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

