Christian Dior’s Mitzah (2010)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

What’s the most probable reason why a perfume house discontinues a perfume?

  1. Certain ingredient(s) is no longer available
  2. It is no longer profitable to make such perfume
  3. Their line up is too big and they want to prune the ones that don’t sell
  4. It smells so out-of-this-world that you constantly see people telling you so on the Internet, and the perfume house wants to disappoint all the fragrance lovers who have not bought it yet by yanking it from the market maliciously so that everyone loses

I was looking at a bottle of Mitzah at a Dior store in Hong Kong, dumbfounded. Why was it still available? Wasn’t it discontinued and people who had a bottle constantly bragged about it? What’s going on? It had to be a trap. In fact, the reason why I was in that shop was to get a bottle of Amber Nuit. A scent that I thought was ok when I first sniffed it, but turned out to be a carpet-riding awesome scent after I took a sample home and got the time to evaluate it properly. But I only had the budget to get one bottle and I would be flying home soon. I picked up the bottle of Mitzah, took a sniff, and thought, it’s ok. A honey-based oriental spicy perfume. It’s not unique, it even smelled a bit sour, but it’s smooth. Actually it reminded me of Serge Lutens’ Ambre Sultan. In fact, a weaker version of Ambre Sultan. If I wore it to work, people in the office probably would tell me that I smell like an old man and get back to work watching Youtube. Did I really want it? I could sense a sales person walking slowly towards me and ready to offer his generous help. His blurred out silhouette was slowly getting focused. This was my last chance – would I be selling my first-born son to win a bottle of Mitzah on eBay later if I don’t get it today? Reason #4 was the only logical answer and I shouldn’t let it happen. The sales person said, “Good choice, we don’t have many bottles left because it’s our bestseller.” Liar.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

One thought on “Christian Dior’s Mitzah (2010)”

Leave a Reply

