Christian Dior’s Grand Bal (2012)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

To be honest, I am actually happy that Dior has not set up any boutiques in Toronto yet – I really don’t want to learn about their privée collection for I have enough temptation, thank you. My recent trip to Hong Kong to visit my family reassured me that my born city really has everything except democracy. There are as many designer shops as fast food restaurants in any mall, and of course, Dior boutiques are no exception.

It was quite early in the morning when I walked in an empty Dior store, so no one was in the shop to notice me “inappropriately dressed” in jeans and untucked shirt except the perfectly dressed sales. It was also a very hot day and I was drenched in sweat, looking like a half-melted cream popsicle still wrapped in its paper bag and the sales wasn’t very enthusiastic to serve to me. I haphazardly smelled all the perfumes from the privée collection for both the sales and I didn’t want to me linger in the shop for long, and to be honest, none really stood out except one – Grand Bal. In retrospect, it stood out because I liked jasmine and Grand Bal is a big jasmine perfume, and also the temperature that day was really high to like any of the heavier perfumes in the line such as Oud Ispahan and Cuir Cannage.

One thing I really like about Grand Bal is that it is not a heavy-handed jasmine/ylang/orange blossom perfume, despite it’s quite linear. It doesn’t get any award for creativity, but it’s very well blended and the ingredients smell very genuine. To me, the opening has a sparkling wine effect – bright and cheery, and when the bubbles seem gone, it has a tea effect – woody, stable and calm. A perfect summer perfume, may be really suitable for a grand ball, but now I am back in Canada in November and the weather is already freezing cold.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

