Torrente’s L’or de Torrente (2001)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

Some time ago I posted in a Facebook group a bunch of photos of a local perfume shop that carried a lot of discontinued perfumes, and many people jumped in to say how excited they were to see their long-lost treasures still available.

And there’s a woman in that group who has so many perfumes (“so many” in this case meaning she has bags full of unopened boxes of perfumes somewhere in the house and back up bottles of her back up bottles), she went through each photo and pointed out which perfumes were rare and highly collectible; and one of the bottles she recommended was L’or de Torrente (2001). So I went there again to check it out and thought the bottle looked very beautiful, but the scent was ok, and though there’s only one bottle left, I didn’t purchase it. Since then, I had revisited that shop many times and each time I asked the sales person to show me that bottle again, until one time she said, “I remember I showed you this perfume every time you dropped by. Some people buy a perfume just because of the bottle, you know,” meaning, “just buy that f*ing perfume, hun.”

Eventually I bought it. The bottle looks like a New Age artifact, or the orb found in the movie Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom but covered with golden leaves. The smell of the perfume, is actually quite interesting (I think the tester in that shop has turned bad). I could detect some coffee note the first time I smelled it, my coworker couldn’t, but he said he could smell lychee in it, which I couldn’t. A minute later, we looked at each other and nodded, yes, it’s a lychee coffee perfume (but lychee isn’t included in the notes break down on Fragrantica.) So far this is the only perfume for women I have encountered that features coffee as the main note. There’s also a light shadow of chypre in this perfume, making it a nice perfume situable for, I think, people in their 30’s or up.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

