Lush’s Furze (2013)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

Gorilla Perfumes (for Lush boutiques) are X-Men – they are mutants, highly misunderstood and most of the world is scared of them. The good ones smell invigorating, powerful, and the bad ones smell strange, wrong and relentless. The packaging used to look cute and semi-professional, now they are completely “hippie-looking”. Regardless, it seems like every one of them has an unique background and a story to tell.

Furze belongs to the second series of Gorilla perfumes (the first one all have small black cute 30ml bottles), and it’s the only one I like from that series. It’s a soft, white, fuzzy-Downy watery green floral scent. It has coconut, neroli and extract of the British “furze” flower, which combined to create an unique accord that I have never smelled before. When applied, I feel like I am watching a video clip of a hippie couple frolicking and rolling down a grassy hill, looking smitten, and dandelions are hovering around them (and the clip has a blurring filter applied on top). A few hours later, when all the strangeness is gone, it becomes a normal coconut white floral dry-down.

Some info about “furze”, taken from their booklet:

Furze is a very British plant, and the prickly bush is also known as gorse. It even flowers in the winter. Lore has it that the flower was used the Vikings to brew beer. And if grown on your property, furze could protect from curses or hexes-made into a broom, it could “sweep” away evil influences.

A week ago, I got an email from Lush telling me that they were going to discontinue all their less popular perfumes (over 20, and I consider that a massacre) and Furze was on the list. I immediately took action, and also bought some of of their “B sides”. I wish I was fast enough to get their “Smell of Weather Changing” perfume, but I was too late.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

