Zoologist’s Beaver (2014), Review by Kate

© Kate Mancini
© Kate Mancini

[Below is a review by Kate Mancini, originally posted on 8/24/2014 in the Facebook group  “Peace, Love, Perfume”.]

Thrilled to have had a coffee afternoon with the talented and most gracious Victor. I got to sample the fun and fabulous new perfumes from his Zoologist line and got a sneak peek at his striking bottles. Cut on an angle, these bottles will hold their own amidst any collection as a modern and rich looking addition. Victor gifted me with a full bottle of Beaver, his first release! I was touched and honored ! Thank you Victor!

The labels on the bottles of Beaver are printed with the cutest bow-tiedbeaver who made me feel like indulging in high tea. I imagined myself calling out to him, “hello old chap!” in a British accent. This dashing beaveron the label
reminds me of Victor himself. Yes, cute, but also quite distinguished and surely serious, but still with a twinkle – utterly charming! 

The fragrance is gorgeous! It opens with a light musky citrus that has an ashy, smokey undertone. As the citrus fades the smoke becomes the principal feature. Evocative bonfire notes, outdoor notes, and wet stone middle notes lasted on me for about two hours and brought me to the dry down. Ahhh – great longevity! That’s so important for me when I’m considering purchasing a fragrance. Beaver‘s dry down notes are all about the animalistic musk. I love musk, as you must in order to appreciate this wonderful fragrance. As the hours passed I kept putting my wrist to my nose to enjoy the fragrance. Well done Victor! This will be a great success for you!

[For more info, please visit https://www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes]

© Zoologist Inc.
© Zoologist Inc.
Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

