Weil’s Antilope (1946)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

Many times I have stumbled upon listings of old Weil bottles on eBay when I search for vintage perfumes. I notice that no one talks about them on forums and groups, so I guess they have been completely forgotten. I have also deduced that they are not really unique/well-loved perfumes, otherwise why there is no mentioning of them anywhere? (Please correct me if you are a fan of Weil.)

I first learned about Antilope (1946) in Barbara Herman’s book on vintage perfumes. As some of you already know, I am starting my own line of perfumes and all the perfumes will be named after an animal. I was a bit dismayed to find out Weil had named their perfume Antilope decades ago, but I wasn’t surprised either – I admit that not many ideas are brand new.

There is a perfume shop that I visit almost every week, and I am surprised that I still find perfumes that I don’t realize exist in the shop before. This time it was a bunch of Antilopes sitting on the floor. The sales person told me that they were already there when she started her job here years ago, and they would never go away. She sprayed it on a test strip with a bonus “yuck” expression. I could tell the juice had turned bad – no way it smelled so wrong. However, I believed the ones in the unopened boxes were still good, so I bought one for twenty bucks.

The perfume has not gone bad, although it smells very very light (it’s an Eau de Cologne). I really wanted to know how Weil interpreted an antelope through a perfume. Well, all I can say is that it smells decent and typical of the perfumes of its time – aldehyde, florals such as jasmine and rose, a little bit of woodiness via cedar woods and some light musks and leather. Ask anyone, I don’t think she can see an agile antelope running in the plains of Africa after smelling it. Remember, it’s a perfume for women in the 40s. This makes me feel a bit relieved, for the niche perfumes of nowadays are much more creative, challenging and fun.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

