Tom Ford’s Jonquille de Nuit (2012)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

Tom Ford is a very busy business man, but each day he can still find time to christen each vat of perfume by taking a long bath in it – that is why despite the line has so many different scents, they somehow all share similarities. Jonquille de Nuit (2012), a narcissus themed perfume, should by default smell intoxicating, but Tom Ford definitely took his time washing his body in it with extra soap and shampoo to make it very manly, perverse and… soapy. The result is a scent that’s not most well-loved and it got discontinued in merely two years since its debut.

Narcissus is one of my most favourite flowers, because it is Chinese tradition to bring fresh flowers home during the Chinese New Year holidays and narcissus is the most fragrant flower among all. It really is a marvel that such tiny little trumpets can smell so fragrant and intense, and I associate narcissus with the happiest time of my childhood. (I think it’s similar to bringing a fresh pine tree home for Christmas in western culture.)

Tom Ford’s Jonquille de Nuit definitely caught my attention when it came out in the market, but I was very hesitant to buy it because while I could detect a big amount of narcissus in it, the other ingredients almost “polluted” it, making it very bitter and green. (Similar to Balmain’s Vent Vert but more intense and floral.) But it’s a supposed to be a sophisticated unisex perfume, so on that level, it’s a good dark green floral, or, in my opinion, a little evil springtime scent.

(P.S. In case you are curious, I bought this half-full flacon bottle on eBay at a price cheaper than a brand-new 50ml bottle – I don’t think I will ever buy a brand new flacon Tom Ford at full retail price.)

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

