Shiseido’s Zen Secret Bloom Intense (2012)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

I have seen some photos of Shiseido Zen Secret Bloom Intense (2012) circulating on the net for a while and know that the bottle is very beautiful, but it kind of blows my mind when I am holding it in my hands in real life. The original minimalistic square bottle is already pretty and “zen”-looking, but with this 140th anniversary limited edition, Shiseido have outdone themselves with some smart optical illusion motif incorporated into the bottle cap design.

Ironically, I bought it at a discount store for a bargain price of $30. It’s a blind-buy, and my first impression was: sweet floral (jasmine and freesia), a bit heavy and dark (probably from incense/patchouli), and really, a little bit intense (hence the name). Overall, a very nice perfume for I have no interest in light scents… but it reminded me of a perfume that I had smelled before but I didn’t not own, and I couldn’t recall which. A few hours of house chores later, I suddenly remembered – it’s Yves Saint Laurent’s Supreme Bouquet, which costs almost $300 a bottle. I liked Supreme Bouquet very much, and my coworker liked Majestic Rose a lot. (She almost didn’t want to leave the boutique like a lego character stuck to the ground.) To be fair, the floral notes in Supreme Bouquet are more refined and of higher quality, while Secret Bloom smells slightly shampoo-y. But I use Splenda instead of sugar, so definitely I have no problem with Secret Bloom being Supreme Bouquet’s more economically sensible substitute.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

