Serge Luten’s Muscs Koublai Khan (1998)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

Here Koublai Khan is posing next to his perfume, Muscs Koublai Khan, created by Serge Lutens.

I have been hunting down this perfume since SL decided not to sell them in North America. I have heard it’s notorious for its animalistic, pungent musky scent. My initial reaction of the first few sprays was disappointment, because it is so similar to Kiehl’s Original Musk. In fact, I prefer Kiehl’s more. However, as the perfume dries down, I find it to be dirtier and less floral than Kiehl’s Original Musks. I think I will use Kiehl’s more often just because SL’s Koublai Khan is hard to find.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

2 thoughts on “Serge Luten’s Muscs Koublai Khan (1998)”

  1. We were in the SL Boutique in Paris when I first tried this one. I thought it was interesting but my husband literally jumped back from the strip! In the interest of marital harmony (and my wish to ever have sex again) I reluctantly left it behind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

