Serge Luten’s Bois De Violette (1992)

Serge Lutens Bois de Violette, 50ml, EDP
© Victor Wong

My friend told me that I smelled wonderful today. I was wearing Serge Lutens Bois De Violette (1992), a perfume that got a 5-star rating from Luca Turin. It’s good to receive a compliment, but I was hesitant to say “thank you” from the bottom of my heart. I only got this perfume recently and I had not worn it enough to understand why it got such great rating.

Frankly, I am disappointed with Bois De Violette. (I can see some red dots on my forehead… die-hard Serge Lutens fans, please, lower your infrared-aiming rifles, I can explain.) You see, it’s only recently that Toronto’s Sephora has started carrying some of the 50ml flat rectangular Serge Lutens bottles. I visit that shop very often and I can say I know the line very well. Frustratingly, they don’t carry the ones that I am most interested in. (The ones that Luca gave 5 stars. Serge, why did you do this to me?) Eventually, I ordered Bois De Violette online, and I was hopeful that it would smell amazing. The perfume arrived, and to my shock, it smelled almost like Bois et Fruits, Feminite do Bois and Arabie, only it has violet in it instead. I was expecting something awesome like a slice of cheesecake, after eating cranberry muffins my whole life, but all I got was a 5-star blueberry muffin. Well, life goes on.

P.S. My little potted violet blooms right on time for my photo 🙂

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

