Salvador Dali Pour Homme (1985)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

Salvador Dali has made so many perfumes since the 80’s, every time I visit a perfume shop I see a bunch of them on the shelves. Their weird looking bottles made me think that they were gimmicky and just trying to sell you the packaging. And of course, I remember reading Luca Turin’s reviews on most of their perfumes, on average each get a two out of five stars. Last week I re-read all his reviews on Salvador’s perfumes and realized that there were two or three perfumes that got a four-star rating.

Now Salvador Dail pour Homme didn’t get any review because it’s their debut perfume (1985) and it is discontinued. I wish Luca did a review on this one because it’s actually quite good. The surprise is that it was created by the current Guerlain CEO/Lead perfumer, Thierry Wasser almost 30 years ago. I guess he was in his twenties? A well thought out top to bottom note design, it is a very decent oriental fougere. The bottle is also one of a kind. I think it should be in every eclectic perfume collector’s collection.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

2 thoughts on “Salvador Dali Pour Homme (1985)”

Leave a Reply

