Robert Piguet’s Knightsbridge (2013)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

I have two bottles of Robert Piguet’s Knightsbridge. One is sitting among my perfume collection, well taken care of, and the other, I really don’t know where it is now. Either it is in some UK landfill, or some postal worker is wearing it now.

I was lucky enough to find someone super nice from a Facebook group who lived in England to help me get a bottle of Knightsbridge, a UK Harroh’s department store exclusive perfume. All went fine, except that I made a fatal mistake of asking her to send the perfume by regular Royal Mail. Well, you probably know how the story goes – Royal Mail detected it was a very expensive niche perfume and forbid it to leave the country, for safety reason, because that 100ml bottle perfume would leak like a garden sprinkler, and catch fire and burn the airport down to cinders. The bottle was confiscated, and no question asked, please. (In a British accent.)

My heart was very broken, and I was so upset. Months have passed, and an opportunity came. My friend who visited her friend in London was able to help me bring back a bottle. Now to be frank, this was a complete blind buy. I wanted it because I am collecting Robert Piguet’s perfumes. It’s very senseless, but anyway, let’s talk about Knightsbridge.

Knightsbridge is a warm, rich and luxurious, tonka-nutmeg-iris yummy mommy. It’s one of the best Robert Piguet perfumes among its modern line. (Please don’t roll your eyes.) But there is a big butt – if you have already owned a bottle or two perfume designed by Aurelien Guichard (such as Chinatown), I could say you have smelled Knightsbridge, and if you don’t care about Chinatown, then you are not missing anything, although I’d say it is probably his best but safest creations. Kind of like if you like Enya, and you own one of her albums, you almost own all. Or, if you have Bois de Violette from Serge Lutens, you really don’t need Bois et Fruits or Feminite du Bois.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

