Robert Piguet’s Futur (1960, redesigned 2009)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

The original Futur was introduced in 1960 by Robert Piguet, and I imagine they wanted to market it as “a perfume from the future” but you can smell it now!

I have never smelled the vintage version, but I bet it doesn’t smell like any contemporary perfumes, which are supposed to be “the future”. In 2009, nearly 50 years later, they relaunched Futur with a new formula. I blind-bought a bottle because I wanted to know what a “revived future perfume” would smell like.

Futur smells like nothing I have ever smelled; it is a cocktail of different era and genre. It smells retro but not vintage; it smells green and cedar-ly like a forest but the flowers are bigger than the trees. It is just f**king weird to me. It reminds me of Bandit, not of the smell, but under what occasions I would wear it and leave home, which is none. But, I do wear it at home frequently, for its strangeness and addictive quality when you know it well enough.

Again, I showed it to my coworker, and he said, “Why would I want to smell like a hospital?” I looked at him and said, “You know nothing, Jon Snow.”

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

2 thoughts on “Robert Piguet’s Futur (1960, redesigned 2009)”

Leave a Reply

