Robert Piguet’s Fracas (1948, reformulated, 1988)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

Now that the ice bucket challenge has subsided and no one embraces the boiling water challenge, I propose a new idea for all perfume lovers – the Fracas challenge for men (women are welcome). You will wear three sprays of this legendary perfume and go to work or any public spaces with tons of people without feeling insecure about your manhood. I am challenging Vladimir Putin, the President of Russia – if he couldn’t do it, he has to stop invading Ukraine and make peace with the world.

I categorize my perfumes into two simple groups – scents that I can wear to work (it contains perfumes for men and women), and scents that I wear at home only. In the latter group I have perfumes that have poor longevity, ones that are too challenging/pungent/skanky for work (e.g. Le Labo’s Oud 27), and sadly, ones that are just too feminine even for me. (That makes me a hypocrite because I like to tell my friends that perfumes are supposed to be unisex.) I honestly think that a lot of men (straight or gay) can wear Fracas beautifully, particularly to formal social gatherings – the key is moderation. (i.e. maximum one spray. More than three and you will grow boobs.) Luca Turin mentioned that perfumes that were designed in the old times actually smelled very masculine in today’s “standard”, and Fracas was designed in 1948 and the reformulation is supposedly faithful to the original.

Fracas is the legendary tuberose perfume that put Robert Piguet on the map. His fashion house did not survive after his death in 1953, but his perfumes did. Each bottle of Fracas contains a cumulus cloud of buttery, potent, kaleidoscopic vintage-smelling floral peachy scent that is one-of-a-kind. Give it a sniff and see why it’s so famous.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

