Penhaligon’s Hammam Banquet (1872)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

This dapper looking bottle contains a scent that smells like “antiquated baby powder”. When I wear it, I feel like I have been transported to the Victorian era; it’s utterly inappropriate to leave home without wearing a top hat and a monocle or play with your iPad without wearing a pair of white gloves. Hammam Bouquet (1872!) contains lavender, turkish rose and iris, woods and spices, and something else that I can’t describe, and the closest association I can come up with is cooking peanut oil. (An oily smelling perfume.) This perfume is Penhaligon’s first perfume and the founder and perfumer, William Penhaligon got his inspiration from the Turkish bath houses that used Turkish rose oil for massages. My friend told me that he actually had visited a Turkish bath house before and the massager bent and stretched him like a three year kid destroying a Barbie doll, but the comfort and relief after the massage was phenomenal.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

1 thought on “Penhaligon’s Hammam Banquet (1872)”

Leave a Reply

