Lubin’s L de Lubin (1974, reformulated 2008)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

L de Lubin is a perfume created in 1974 by a perfume company with a 200 year old history; it got reformulated “identically” in 2008 (info from Temple Fragrantica), and given a redesigned packaging featuring art nouveau style artwork inspired by Gustav Klimt. To me, everything is interesting about this perfume; from the shape of the bottle to the fiery bi-colour cosmic cloud acrylic cap, yet the most interesting thing about L de Lubin is that it smells modern.

I hope that my lack of proper descriptions of this perfume would not demean it, but the more I wear it, the more it reminds me of mouthwash. Modern floral mouthwash used by affluent ladies and gentlemen of the old days (hence the irony). I know mint is not a listed ingredient, but it smells so mouthwash-fresh. Sniff closer to your skin, it suddenly smells rich, spicy, woody and floral.

L de Lupin is an awesome new discovery. A lot of people say that it reminds them of the original Dior Diorella, which I have never smelled before.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

