Le Labo’s Neroli 36 (2006)

© Victor Wong
Le Labo Neroli 36 © Victor Wong

My coworker dislikes all powdery perfumes. All five-star perfumes with a hint of powdery note are zero-star. I, on the other hand, love powdery notes. (If you think about it, a liquid that smells of powder… isn’t it interesting?) What I don’t like is soapy perfumes, and that is fine, because the law of equilibrium tells me somewhere there is a fan group dedicated to Camay soaps. Oh, and there is another note that I am not very accustomed to smelling – metallic note (Secretions Magnifiques, anyone?) It’s simply weird to me.

Enter Le Labo’s Neroli 36. As someone who doesn’t find Patchouli 24 challenging and Oud 27 too disgusting , Neroli 36 is my kryptonite – it’s a floral soapy metallic perfume attached to two concert speakers. Sigh, the irony. I wore a sample of this perfume to work and my female coworker said to me, “oh wow you smell so nice.” I wore it again and walked into a garden nursery and a giant guy carrying a hoe said, “Sir, you smell very nice.” I grabbed my nephew and told him no way this is good and he said, “actually, it smells very nice.”

Eventually I finished my samples, and one day, I ordered a bottle.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

