L’artisan Parfumeur’s Timbuktu (2004)

L'Artisan Parfumeur Timbuktu, 100ml, EDT
© Victor Wong

A year ago I bought a bunch of L’artisan Parfumeur samples from Luckyscent.com. I paid special attention to Timbuktu, for Luca Turin praised it like it’s heaven-scent (pun intended). But you know how tiny those LuckyScent.com samples are and how soft L’artisan scents are? I thought Timbuktu was simply ok.

Today the full bottle has arrived, and I am showering myself with many sprays, I hope I can fully appreciate this scent.

Here are some excerpts from Luca’s review on Timbuktu:

[Timbuktu is probably the first true masterpiece of what, by analogy with nouvelle cuisine, I would call nouvelle parfumerie.]

[…almost infrared shimmer of woody freshness.]

[Timbuktu is the only modern fragrance that replicates, albeit by a completely different route, the bracing, euphoric freshness first bottled in 1888 by Paul Parquet as the defunct but immortal Fougere Royale.]

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

