Lanvin’s ME (2013)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

Last weekend I had dinner with a group of people that I didn’t know well. Sitting next to me was a woman in her early forties, and I asked her if she liked perfumes. She confessed that she wasn’t into perfumes; she had only a few bottles, but was very attracted to cool-looking bottles. She told me that she wanted a bottle of Marc Jacob… “Daisy?”, I said. “Yes. I can’t remember those names.” Then I asked her what kind of scent did she like and here’s the interesting part – she said that she liked light and fresh scents, “You know, something that almost disappears when you are ready to leave the house.” I almost spewed water from my nose. Here’s the moment when I realized I had accidentally stepped into a parallel universe.

So in front of me is a bottle of Lanvin ME (2013). Got it because I love Lanvin’s Arpege and saw it in a discount bin. A few sprays on my wrist, and I immediately thought of that woman at the dinner table. I guess there’s nothing to report here – it’s a light fresh blueberry scent. Just as I thought I could close the books, it threw a curve ball at me. It’s fresh, sweet and sunny and suddenly there’s a grey cloud of liquorice coming out from nowhere and turned the scent semi-masculine and almost “noire”. It’s so unexpected that I can’t decide if I like it or not, but definitely I keep smelling it. It’s like those two-faced duet by the same person –she turns around and she becomes a he. Interesting but awkward.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

