Lanvin’s Arpege Pour Homme (2005)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

Arpege Pour Homme (2005) was relatively short-lived. I have a few theories why it didn’t achieve the popularity it deserved:

1) Arpege is a famous perfume for women. Naming a cologne “Arpege Pour Homme” is like Chanel naming a cologne “No. 5 Pour Homme”. Not many men are comfortable wearing a perfume with a name that is strongly associated with a women’s perfume.

2) Arpege Pour Homme smelled “feminine” at the time it was introduced. If Lanvin releases it now, I am sure no one will complain about it. Luca Turin writes in his review of Arpege that it is an “unisex classic”. If Arpege is unisex, then Arpege pour Homme definitely is very “masculine” to me.

3) Lanvin is no longer a famous perfume brand to most people. I hope it is not the case.

Arpege is now my most favourite perfume. Yes, I have almost 200 perfumes and I pick Arpege my number 1. My coworkers all think it’s for grandmas, which doesn’t affect me at all. In fact, I spray it on my pillow occasionally for a better night’s sleep. Arpege is now part of my daily healthy diet. But I digress…

I didn’t know about Arpege Pour Homme until recently – it’s because they are not on any shelves! I discovered it on Youtube when I used the keyword “Arpege”. I jumped out of my seat when I saw it, “What!? There’s a Arpege for men?” Now that I have got the last 100ml bottle in Toronto, I can tell you Arpege pour Homme smells incredible. I don’t think it is a classic, but it is a soft mellow masculine; half a cop and half a cup of warm Crème brûlée in a floral shop. As the top notes are gone, I could smell some light incense, although it’s not listed in Fragrantica.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

