Karl Lagerfeld’s Sun Moon Stars (1994)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

If a perfume is named “Sun”, it might smell bright and warm; if a perfume is named “Moon”, it might smell romantic and floral; if a perfume is named “Stars”, it might smell exciting or solitary. But when a perfume is named “Sun, Moon, Stars”, it smells like 90’s.

My general perception of a typical 90’s perfume is fruity, rosy, light, fresh and non-confrontational. (Tommy Girl, CK One, Gio, Cool Water) Sun, Moon Stars fits this description quite well. In my opinion, It is not a teenager fruity scent, but more for a mature, sensual woman. May be she would wear it to work, but more likely she is wearing it for a romantic date after work. The slightly powdery floral notes mingle with the fruity notes, making it rich but non-suffocating, almost shampoo-y scent.

To be honest, I bought it for the bottle. It reminds me of a Lampe Berger wick-lamp from France, beautiful and whimsical (but also a potential fire hazard. Please no kids should ever see you light up a Lampe Berger.) When I saw that bottle, I knew I would buy it, but I did the standard and almost unnecessary procedure of asking the sales person to let me smell the perfume, but really, my wallet is on the counter, wide open. To my surprise, it smelled really good. I went home and did some research – here comes the shock – it was designed by our famous Sophia Grojsman.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

