Hermes’ Rocabar (1998)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

Rocabar is lying in a bed, naked, on top of his felt jacket, reminiscing the great time he just has had. That’s probably what Hermes wants you to imagine when you reach for this bottle.

When I first saw the bottle design, my initial reaction was, ha ha, a scrubbing pad to wash dishes with (but smelling really great standing in front of a kitchen sink). I took a sniff and I thought I had smelled some chocolate, hence the name Rocabar. Later Fragrantica embarrassingly corrected me, “Rocabar: the name a contraction of “rug” and “à barres” (striped in French)”.

Frankly, I am not a fan of overtly masculine perfumes, but the comical packaging (now discontinued) is so strange that I have to get it. A very balsamic and a little bit spicy cologne that is almost void of floral notes, it smells great but not very memorable, at least to me.

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong
Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

One thought on “Hermes’ Rocabar (1998)”

  1. The packaging and fragrance was inspired by Cattlemen in basque country. The bottle cap and the piece of horse blanket are an imitation of how the Gaucho’s would wrap their canteens to keep the water cold. To me it always spoke of the art and attention to detail that Hermes put into this fragrance. I am sad they changed it to a generic mass market bottle. They made it feel downmarket without at least reflecting the cheaper packaging in the price.

    Like

Leave a Reply

