Guerlain’s L’Instant de Guerlain pour Homme Eau Extreme (2005)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

To me, the olfactory journey of L’Instant de Guerlain Eau Extreme (2005) is like watching a cloudy aquarium slowly turn crystal clear. The opening is bitter, unpleasant and chalky; if I were judge Simon Cowell on the Guerlain Got Talent show, I would press the button to open the trap door under its feet in less than three seconds. But of course, other judges see much more than what meets the eye (particularly the bottle design looks like Borat wearing a black thong) – as the top notes fade away, a well balanced triad of notes (not too sweet gourmand/resins, masculine woods and florals) takes over, making it a very decent and humble (may be sexy?) scent.

To my understanding, L’Instant de Guerlain Eau Extreme (LIDGE) is not available in the States (correct me if I am wrong) and a lot of people who won’t settle for a regular version are looking for one. The Toronto Guerlain flagship store for all the unfathomable reasons carries it, making me feel very privileged. (If you live in Toronto, you know how few niche brands the city carries.) One day I was at the Guerlain store and a sales lady gave me some info on which perfumes were going to be discontinued. She told me that LIDGE was going to receive a new bottle design (because it sold unexpectedly well), so if I wanted one, I should get it now. At the cashier, another saleslady told me that someone in the States just ordered 50 bottles of LIDGE, so I really should get two bottles before it got sold out. (Frankly, I think the Toronto Guerlain is not generating too much sales. I hope it is not the case.) I only bought one, because at that time I was still dubious about this scent.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

