Guerlain’s L’Heure de Nuit (2012)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

The moment I saw Guerlain’s L’Heure de Nuit (2012) at the Guerlain store, I knew I wanted it. I had not even smelled it, but I was very attracted by the blue coloured perfume in the bottle. I remember when I was a kid, Hong Kong’s McDonald’s “celebrated” the Olympics by releasing a different flavoured milkshake every week during the games, and the colour of the milkshakes coordinated with the colour of the Olympic rings. I eagerly waited for the blueberry milkshake to be released for I had never seen blueberries before (not a local fruit) and a blue colour milkshake was just rad.

Of course, that blueberry milkshake tasted very forgettable. I’m just saying that the persuasive power of colours has always been undeniably strong on me – cleaning the toilet bowl with blue Toilet Duck has made it even mildly entertaining. The colour of a perfume definitely suggests something, may be its potency or a special ingredient is used in the formula. When I saw Serge Luten’s deep purple coloured Sarrasins perfume, I got very mesmerized. I have yet to smell it, but I only know it is cool to own a purple coloured perfume.

L’Heure de Nuit to me is a modernized version of L’Heure Bleue. If L’Heure Bleue were a 80-year-old woman watching the sunset, L’Heure de Nuit would be a 50-year-old of the same woman sitting in a gazebo looking at the moon – not as melancholic and sad, the spiciness and powderiness is no longer as “grumpy” but much mellower and smoother, and there’s a certain hint of vigour and sweetness that is not seen in L’Heure Bleue. It is not an exciting perfume, but it has a meditative quality in it. Depends on your mood, sometimes the nighttime is more beautiful than the sunset.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

One thought on “Guerlain’s L’Heure de Nuit (2012)”

  1. Oh my gosh same here, I immediately bought it because I was captivated by the deep indigo liquid contained in the classic bee bottle. I also spent part of my childhood in Asia where blueberries, raspberries etc are rare. I am obsessed with most things that are edible and blue because of my early childhood obsession with blueberries and the cartoon aubergine man from McDonalds…

    Like

Leave a Reply

