Gucci’s Gucci Pour Homme (2003)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

[This post was originally posted on Facebook Fragrance Friends group and got me in hot water. In the post I wrote, “The things that he designs and his style, is so manly that makes me wonder why he is gay.” which is in very poor taste. I am a gay man, and I thought it was a casual tongue-in-cheek joke, but in fact, very politically incorrect. My apology.]

As someone who is overweight for decades, I cherish finding a clothing brand that has sizes that fit me. I never pay attention to designer clothing; their awesomeness stops at size L. May be that’s the reason I never realized how legendary Tom Ford was until I’ve started paying attention to perfumes. When I looked up information on Gucci Pour Homme, the perfume that made me stop looking for another incense perfume, I discovered that it was created when Tom Ford was the creative director of Gucci. Look at that bottle – it’s still marvellous to hold and look at. The things that he designs and his style, is so manly that makes me wonder why he is gay. Luca Turin says that after Tom Ford has left Gucci, Gucci perfume bottles all return to their kitschy looking belt and buckle design.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

