Diptyque’s Geranium Odorata (2014)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

Geranium is one of my favourite flowers. Every spring I buy a hanging basket full of geraniums, put it on my porch, and they don’t stop blooming till the end of summer. If I want to nitpick, it is that geraniums have no floral scent. But I know that geranium is used in perfumery, so I guess they use its leaves instead? I later stumbled upon a forum post on this topic, and someone said that there was a special kind of geranium called rose geranium, and its scent is heavenly.

When I found out Diptyque’s latest EDT, Geranium Odorata was geranium based, I was very curious. One smell, and I immediately fell in love with it. I actually didn’t not know if I was smelling rose geranium at all, but the overall effect hit all my buttons right – powdery, gingery (not listed, but I think this could be rose geranium?), tonka beans – it’s sweet, powdery but fresh. It reminds me a traditional a Chinese dessert, tongyuan, which is just doughy rice flour dumpling filled with ground sesame/peanuts and sugar cooked in boiling hot water infused with a few slices of ginger and some rock-sugar. The soup becomes slightly starchy because of the dumplings, but the ginger cuts through the gooeyness and brings great aroma to this simple dessert. How funny I have found my childhood favourite dessert in a perfume.

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong
Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

