Dior’s Poison (1985)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

I used to visit Basenotes.com’s forums everyday and often there were discussions on vintage formula vs reformulated formula. One perfume that got mentioned frequently was Christian Dior’s Poison.

I confess that I have never had any interest in CD’s perfumes because of their packaging. They just bug me. But, I want to smell how a new formula could upset so many people. I found a bottle of vintage Poison on eBay (please tell me I’ve got the right one…the tall one is the vintage version, right?) and for the first time I’ve smelled the famous blockbuster perfume made in the 80s. All I need to do is go to a department store and smell the new version. I am excited.

To me, Poison in 2014 is a unisex perfume. I mean guys who constantly say that Serge Luten’s Chergi and A-Men are awesome couldn’t possibly say no to Poison. It’s just so plummy, sensual and delicious.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

