Chanel’s Egoiste (1990)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

I saw a bottle of Chanel Egoiste in a duty-free shop at the Frankfurt airport about a year ago, took a sniff, and put it down. I thought, “Nice, I will get a bottle when I feel like to in Toronto.”

A few months later, I went to my local department store and looked for a bottle but couldn’t find one. The sales person told me, “It’s been discontinued for quite some time. You can probably find one, if you are lucky, at some European airport duty-free shops.” What followed instantly was some loud dramatic lightning and thunder, casting sharp shadows of me standing like a dumbfounded moose in the middle of a road.

Later I sold a little bit of my dignity and bought a bottle from eBay.

To me, the opening of Egoiste resembles a little bit of the brilliant Bois de Iles, also by Chanel. The difference is the yummy candied fruit notes found in Egoiste. I’ve read that the vintage version is much better, but right now I am happy living with a reformulated bottle instead of none.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

One thought on “Chanel’s Egoiste (1990)”

Leave a Reply

