Bond No. 9’s Wall Street (2004)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

I remember reading a website on the topic of Bond No. 9’s perfumes: They think that Bond No. 9 are not really passionate about making perfumes, instead, they do market research on which perfumes are the hottest in the market and try to come up with perfumes that smell similar to those perfumes. Bond No. 9 sales people are given cheat sheets to help them sell; on one of those sheets is a table of perfume “equivalents” – say you tell a Bond No. 9 salesperson that you like Adventus, he can suggest a Bond No. 9 scent that smells similar to Adventus. That website faced some backlash and they eventually made a post trying to clarify that they are not bashing Bond No. 9, and they have given a lot of Bond No. 9 perfumes very favourable review scores as a proof.

Well, I think that Bond No. 9 have made some good and interesting perfumes (they hired Maurice Roucel to designed two), but they simply have introduced too many perfumes in a short period of time and many are really unoriginal and uninspiring. My coworkers think that the bottles of Bond No. 9 are vulgarly cheap-looking. I think those I Love New York perfumes look worse than a Chinatown knockoff of something. I never buy Bond No. 9 perfumes at their suggested retail price ($240, I think?) as I often see discounted ones at Marshalls and Winners stores. Every time I see a Bond No. 9 at Marshalls, I reach out my phone and go to Fragrantica to check the reviews and notes breakdown. If it is generally “favourable”, I will get it. If the perfume turns out horrible, I will return it (they allow perfume returns) and a few weeks later if they discount it even more and I will be that sucker and buy that perfume I just returned again because it’s $40. Because of this, it has created an association of “Bond No. 9 is very over-priced” in my head.

Wall Street (2004) is one of their earlier perfumes which I quite like. I visit Fragrantica again as I am writing this and some guy writes that it smells like Creed’s Millesime Imperial. Really? Millesime Imperial is chloroform to me. But Wall Street smells like money, literally. Newly minted, shiny pennies that smell so uniquely brassy metallic with a hint of sweetness. Imagine a Lehman Brothers banker who has been drifting in the sea for days after his billion dollar yacht capsized, got rescued, and given a bar of cucumber and lavender soap to clean up. After a long hot shower, he smells nice again but people can still smell seaweed and metallic notes on his body because of the prolonged marination. Wall Street is an appropriate name for this perfume and I will wear it whenever I wear a suit. (Which is very rare.)

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

