Badgley Mischka’s Badgley Mischka (2006)

© Victor Wong
© Victor Wong

My journey of smelling all the 5-star perfumes reviewed by Luca Turin continues. So far I have smelled about 75% of them, and the remaining ones are either not available in Toronto or discontinued. There are also some that I simply can’t remember their names. Those, I have copied down on a little note and bring it with me whenever I go to a perfume shop.

On the list, I have one called “Badgley Mischka” (2006). I couldn’t pronounce it right, so I showed it to the perfume shop saleswoman. “Yup, we have it.” This was totally unexpected and had got me very excited.

Subsequently I showed it to my coworkers. My male coworker smelled it and said, “It smells like a wedding.” “What? A wedding?” “Yes, very nice. Is it for woman?” I knew he knew it’s for women, but it probably smelled so nice that he was secretly hoping for an answer like, “No, it’s for men, especially for balding men.” My female coworker impatiently said, “oh let me smell, let me smell!” and sprayed some on her wrist. “Good job, Victor! Oh it’s sooo good.” She put down her cup of coffee, opened her drawer and reached for a magic wand, and whisked away to that perfume shop. (No, she didn’t, but she was going to get it.)

The scent, ironically, is not very special and unique to me. I don’t think I would consider it a niche perfume at all. (If niche perfumes have a special smell.) However, it does smell very lush, fruity, sweet and happy. And wedding-like. Underneath all the sweetness and fruitiness is actually a mini demure chypre which I enjoy. May be a little bit too fruity for me (shock!) but it definitely can make my coworkers happy.

Author: Victor Wong

A perfume lover - niche, designer, modern, vintage, I love them all. I am also the owner of Zoologist Perfumes, a small Canadian perfume house. Please visit www.zoologistperfumes.com or www.facebook.com/zoologistperfumes for more info!

Leave a Reply

